Going Gluten and GMO-Grain Free


Easy, slow-cooker chili

This chili is so easy and so good. It is meaty, chunky, and has a slight kick! If you prefer a less spicy version, try using half the chili powder or omitting it completely, depending on your taste buds.

Ingredients:

1 15-16 oz. can kidney beans*
1 15-16 oz. can pinto beans*
1 28 oz. can diced tomatoes*
1 1/2 pound of ground meat (grass-fed beef, turkey, or chicken)
1 large yellow onion, diced
1 bell pepper, diced (I used half of a yellow and half of an orange for more color)
2-3 cloves minced garlic
1 tablespoon chili powder
1 teaspoon black pepper
1 teaspoon cumin
1 teaspoon red chili pepper flakes

Directions:

Brown the ground meat in a skillet and drain if necessary. Drain beans. Add all ingredients to slow cooker, stir thoroughly, and cook for 4-5 hours on medium setting.

Serve with shredded cheese, green onions, or sour cream if desired.

We ate two huge bowls of this for dinner last night and then used the leftovers this evening for chili fries.

*As always, remember to choose canned items carefully. I prefer organic, with no salt or unnecessary ingredients added. I stock up on the Whole Foods 365 brand organic beans and tomatoes (diced, paste, and sauce) when they are on sale.

For chili fries:

Preheat oven to 425 degrees

Line two rimmed cookie sheets with parchment paper

Cut two large Yukon potatoes into 1/2 inch strips

In large, covered bowl, toss with two tablespoons EVOO and seasoning salt

Place in single layer on cookie sheet and bake for 30 minutes; turning once at 15 minutes

Place fries in bowl and top with re-heated chili

Serves two

**My cookie sheets will not fit side-by-side on one oven rack so I position one rack in the center and the other closer to the top. At the 15 minute turn, I switch racks. This ensures they will cook evenly.

First appointment with a new doctor….

After all of my preparation, my doctor’s appointment is just around the corner. I randomly selected an in-network doctor and just as much as I am going into this knowing nothing about her, she has no clue what she has gotten into having me as a patient. I only hope she has the patience and skills it is going to take to help me. I hope I will have made her job at least a little easier with the “packet” I have put together for her. It includes prior medical records, photos of my different rashes at their worst, and the laundry list of ailments and concerns I have. Makes me feel quite neurotic but I refuse to leave another doctors appointment feeling like I was rushed and not taken seriously. No more wasted co-pays!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

