Going Gluten and GMO-Grain Free


Baking, baking, and more baking
May 26, 2010, 9:19 pm
Filed under: Going strong... | Tags: ,

May has turned out to be quite a busy month. My husband and I took two trips to California- one for a family event and the other to celebrate our first wedding anniversary! This is what I’ve been up to when we weren’t traveling….

I’ve spent a ton of my free time this month baking (and my disaster of a house shows it!). I have been working on creating some of my own recipes and not just following those of other gluten and grain free-ers. This is a huge step for a go-with-what-works kind of girl like me, but it has yielded some really good results.

My main focus in the last couple of weeks has been on making my bread recipe come out “taller” without losing the amazing flavor and good texture of my original batch. Even with my short loaf, we were thrilled to be able to have sandwiches with all of the fixings. One thing I have learned from bread making- you can ALWAYS use your failed loaves for croutons! 🙂

Here are some visuals of my works in progress:

Chocolate and coconut milk pie

Cinnamon and

apple muffins

Sandwich

bread!

Cheesecake

with fresh

strawberries

I must say that the cheesecake turned out DELICIOUS! The only thing I will change the next time around is the cooking time… the crust was a touch too brown on the outer edges.

P.S. Thanks to my MIL for lending me her pie pan…. I had never considered baking a pie…that is, until I had the proper pan sitting on my counter “staring” at me.  🙂

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I am so impressed by this website and am glad to find some recipes that look tasty, that are gluten-free. I just found out a couple of years ago, that I’m allergic to gluten and haven’t had much luck with eating fun desserts! I’ve been miserable without them. I can’t wait to try some of these recipes!

Comment by Peggy Sandow

You amaze me! I can’t wait to try some of these! I MUST HAVE THAT CHEESECAKE RECIPE!!

Comment by Jessica




Leave a Reply

