Going Gluten and GMO-Grain Free


Wednesday is my third favorite day of the week!
May 5, 2010, 7:22 pm
Filed under: Going strong... | Tags: , , ,

That’s right… third! Saturday and Sunday rank #1 and #2, of course… but besides the weekend days, Wednesday is my favorite! And for a good reason… I have fresh, local, organic produce waiting at my doorstep when I get home from work. All thanks to Organics To You! My small box provides me with a variety of 14-16 different fruits and vegetables all from local, organic farms. I love opening up my box and thinking about all the recipes I could make using the unique mixture of produce that changes each week. It also gives me the opportunity to try foods that I would have never thought of buying from the market on my own.

Another reason I love Wednesdays is that I have designated it as “give the juicer a workout” day! I gather all the leftover fruits and veggies from the previous weeks delivery and juice them. It is fun having a different tasting juice each week. Today I had carrots, pears, a kiwi, pink lady apples, a few stalks of rhubarb, and a grapefruit. So delicious!

Last week, I had A LOT of produce to juice, and since juice doesn’t keep very long in the refrigerator, I decided to make popsicles. I found some great, inexpensive popsicle molds at Sur La Table that worked perfectly! These will definitely come in handy in the summer.

*Remember that fresh juice begins losing it’s nutrients almost immediately, so it is best to drink it right away.

I am addicted to baking lately and can’t decide if I want to attempt to make my first pie or stick with muffins tomorrow… hmmmm!? Decisions, decisions.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I have these same popsicle molds! I got mine at Bed, Bath and Beyond for $5. Pretty awesome. We made some popsicles yesterday for the kids to eat in the pool. (lemon juice, lime juice, raspberries, oranges, Trader Joe’s sparkling mineral water and Stevia in the food processor) All the kids loved them and didn’t even notice they had no sugar and lots of healthy ingredients! Great post Kate!! xoxo

Comment by Jessica




Leave a Reply

