Going Gluten and GMO-Grain Free


Just say no to eating out!
February 5, 2010, 5:33 pm
Filed under: The First 30 Days

So I’ve really been craving some Thai food from this great (or what I used to think was great) place down the street from my work. I’ve researched their menu and even called them more than once to ask about what they cook with and how certain items are prepared. I thought I had covered all of my bases, but I thought wrong!

I ordered the spicy Thai chicken (which comes with veggies) without soy sauce and substituted my side of rice for a side salad with their homemade ginger dressing. I thought I was making really good, informed choices but I learned otherwise a few hours later. My stomach has been in turmoil for the past few hours and I really don’t have a solid explanation for it, other than you can never be 100% positive of what someone else is putting in your food. Lesson learned!!

On a happier note, I am really excited for our baking day tomorrow. I can’t wait to try some new recipes from Elana’s Pantry and spend some quality time with my sis!

The baking line-up:

Herb Crackers (in Elana’s cookbook)

Gluten Free Bread 2.0

Vanilla Cupcakes (not sure which frosting we’ll use yet :-))

Blueberry Muffins

P.S. Last night my sister made a delicious version of Chicken Parmesan using goat cheese that was so delicious.  Definitely going into the dinner rotation!

I’ll update on how the baking turns out tomorrow!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

