Going Gluten and GMO-Grain Free


You deserve answers….
January 31, 2010, 7:12 am
Filed under: Before the Diet Changes | Tags: , ,

I want to explain in more depth what this new dietary plan will consist of. It is quite simple, really. Eat organically grown, non-GMO (genetically modified) foods that do not contain wheat, barley, rye, etc.

Two common sense rules I will also implement:

If it has unpronounceable ingredients, don’t eat it.
If its shelf life is longer than one week, don’t eat it.

Here are the basic lists….

Examples of foods I can eat (all organic/free range of course):
Beef (grass-fed), poultry, fish, and eggs
Almond milk
Coconut milk
Goat cheese
Non-GMO rice products (pasta, brown rice)
Hummus
Fresh produce
Dried fruits

Examples of foods eliminated from diet:
Anything processed/pre-packaged
Soy in all forms
Breads and pastries not specified as gluten free and non-GMO
High fructose corn syrup
Barley, Rye,
Pasta (except those made of rice, kelp, etc.)

Foods that I am also eliminating in order to calm sensitivities and/or allergies:
Seeds
Nuts
Corn
Shrimp
Oats

This is not a complete list but gives a better idea of what is acceptable and what is not. I will continue to add to the list and get more brand specific as the blogging continues.

I was going to wait until next week to start this new lifestyle but I’ve gotten so wrapped up in the preparations that I am pretty sure I have already started without completely noticing. I went grocery shopping for the first time since the “big change” and I think I did pretty well (my lovely sister reassured me of that ☺). I found some really good products that I am excited to try!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

