Going Gluten and GMO-Grain Free


Why the change?

Today is not just my first day in the blogging world, it is the beginning of something that brings me hope, excitement, and most of all fear. The fear of failing to change my unhealthy lifestyle into one that will hopefully make me feel lively and youthful again. I suppose I should explain in a bit more depth.

Let’s start with a little bit of self history. From a fairly young age I have had health issues. Aching pains in my knees, wrists, and elbows, urinary tract infections, irregular bowel movements, and acute pain in my stomach and pelvic area. All of this before I was even out of elementary school. My daily life at such a young age consisted of a morning cocktail of mineral oil and stool softeners to help with my stomach and bowel issues and a restriction of certain physical activities due to tendonitis. I figured the issues would soon pass and went about my childhood thinking that what I was experiencing was normal. The physical issues continued through my teenage years and into adulthood.

More recently, I have had several episodes of excruciating stomach pain that left me bed ridden at best. My lifes routine has become filled with consecutive days of severe nausea, painful constipation, agonizing gas pains, and/or disruptive diarrhea without a “free” day in between. The only consistent symptoms have been depression and my lack of energy.

After seeing many doctors, having countless procedures and tests done, and always being told that Irritable Bowel Syndrome is to blame, I finally found a doctor that cared enough to fight for my well-being. At first I thought this doctor (who had filled in for my primary physician on her day off) was a complete nut case. I saw her during one of my “episodes” and she wanted me to do blood tests, urine tests, give four different stool samples, and be tested for all allergies possible. I suppose my persistence about having Celiac disease (which I had researched for days before on the internet) could have annoyed her so highly that she figured she would cover all of her bases to ease my fears. The exciting results of all of those tests were that I have a moderate allergy to shrimp and a severe sensitivity to oats. I suppose I should have been happier about this, as the diagnosis could have been much worse, but without real answers I was losing hope.

Being as unsatisfied with the results as I was, the doctor insisted on more tests. For the next several months, myself, my new doctor, and her amazing assistant would fight my health insurance company to get an abdominal and pelvic CT scan approved. After several appeals, all resulting in denial, we finally got through to Blue Shield that I was not having unjustified “woman issues” (as they referred to them) but that my “issues” are real and have affected my daily life.

After reviewing the results from the CT scan, the doctor found signs of a digestive disorder known as diverticulosis, or pouches that form on the wall of the colon. Now, diverticulosis itself isn’t really something to write home about. It is the episodes of diverticulitis , or infections of the pouches formed when you have diverticulosis, that are worrisome, especially at my young age. This is only a preliminary diagnosis and my newly visited gastroenterologist  is skeptical that someone of my age could have episodes of diverticulitis. He explained that he has never personally seen a patient in their 20’s with diverticulosis and it is rare for people even in their 30’s to develop the condition. He added that he strongly believes that, even if diverticulosis is present, I am suffering from Irittable Bowel Syndrome as well.

I will be having a colonoscopy with the above mentioned gastroenterologist in early March for a solid diagnosis.

So, in short, my reasoning behind going gluten and GMO grain free is to rid myself of the constant discomfort and pain I have lived with for so many years. I am hopeful that these dietary changes, when implemented into my daily life and followed strictly, will create drastic changes in the way I feel.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I’m so proud of you for going through with this and more than anything for sharing it with the world! I know its a bit scary and out of the comfort zone we all like to stay in but it will be well worth it, I promise you. I’m excited to see all of our results and have so many things I can’t wait to show you that will work wonders for you!! Love you! Great blog!!

Comment by Jessica

Good luck to you, my daughter.

Comment by Mario Raia

KATIE IM NOT SURE I SENT THIS CORRECTLY SO HERE GOES AGAIN!! I KNOW A LOT ABOUT THIS STUFF. I ALSO HAD MANY PATIENTS WITH DIVERTICULITIS AND IBS.
[IF THAT IS WHAT YOU HAVE] NUMBER ONE DO NOT EAT….NUTS/CORN NUTS/SUNFLOWER SEEDS/BROCOLI/CANNED CORN. BE SURE TO USE ONLY SEEDLESS JAM OR JELLY.THESE FOODS CAN CAUSE SOOOO MUCH PAIN IF YOU HAVE THIS!! I ALSO HAD ONE PATIENT THAT WAS 30 AND STRUGGLED WITH THIS FOR YEARS. MAYBE YOU ALREADY HAVE THIS INFO BUT IF NOT, I HOPE THIS HELPS!! I LOVE YA KID!!

Comment by kim garcia

i love you katie and you know that i am here for you always i hope and pray that they will found a reason for your on going stuff and a way to help you manage it so that you can go on with your life with out all this pain,i love you always dad

Comment by Dad




Leave a Reply

