Going Gluten and GMO-Grain Free


Preparation is key!
July 2, 2010, 9:19 am
Filed under: Finding the cause

As I was replying to Amanda’s comment on my last post, I realized that a new post had been sparked.

Thanks for your great comment and advice, Amanda! This one’s for you!

I’ve suspected eczema for sometime now… but have been told repeatedly by doctors that it isn’t the case. Although, with most of the doctors visits I’ve had in the past I was highly unprepared. One of the hardest parts in the diagnosis process has been that my symptoms come and go and are more visible right after eating and showering. It is almost impossible to “make” myself have a reaction so that the doctor can see it with his or her own eyes. Now that I am REALLY serious about finding the cause of these ailments, I have thought a lot about how I can better prepare for a first visit with my next doctor.

Some of my ideas are:

Gathering recent (and old, if significant) medical records

Taking pictures of the outbreaks as they occur

Listing the different types of reactions and making a note of when they occur most often
I have definitely considered doing an elimination diet. I’m just a little confused on where and how to start. Right now, I am working on finding a doctor who will be able to help me gather a list of “safe” foods. My main problem with compiling this list is that I suspect some fruits and veggies are the cause of these ailments. Did any of you who have tried this process include any grains in your diet when first starting or were those completely eliminated? What foods did you start out eating? How often do you introduce a new food?

I completely agree with Amanda’s idea about the food cravings being linked to the intolerance we suffer from. For the longest time, I was “addicted” to oatmeal in the morning. It is fast, filling, and could be stored in my desk drawer at work. Come to find out, I am severely allergic to oats! Similar story with shrimp… I had my food allergy test done on a Friday and that weekend I had shrimp three times! Shrimp skewers, shrimp tempura, and shrimp cocktail. By Monday afternoon, when the doctor called with the results, I was doubled-over in pain. I can’t remember for sure, but it is a good possibility that I had oatmeal for breakfast that morning too!

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Initially, no grains were allowed in my diet. When it comes to fruit, the only thing that was left out was citrus. Everything processed or “manufactured” was out. If it came in a packet or a can, chances are it had other stuff in it.

As for how often to add new stuff, I was told that food takes five days to completely move out of your system, therefore, no more than one introduction in the five day period. I did find that when I ate bread again, it was two days later that my symptoms were the worst.

If you want, I can email the list of foods my doctor gave to me?

Comment by Amanda Acton

That would be great! Having some idea of where to start is so helpful. My email is katieann450@aol.com

Thanks for your help Amanda!

Comment by Katie




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

